Chemicals classification

Chemicals are segregated into 9 classes of hazardous material also called “dangerous good classes”


Chemicals classification


Classes of hazardous material




Chemical group


Class 1


Dynamite, Trinitrotoluene (TNT), ammonium nitrate oil

Class 2


Oxygen, carbon dioxide, gas acetylene

Class 3

Flammable liquids

Acetone, ethanol, diethyl ether, ethylene glycol, formaldehyde, isopropanol, methanol, xylene, toluene, phenol, chloroform, glacial acetic acid

Class 4

Flammable solids: spontaneous combustion; contact with water emit flammable gases

Nitrocellulose, magnesium

Water contact: sodium, calcium, potassium

Class 5

Oxidizing substances and organic


Hydrogen peroxide (H2O2), ammonium persulfate (APS), magnesium nitrate, nitric acid, perchloric acid

Class 6

Toxic and infectious substances

Toxic: Formaldehyde, phenol, beta-mercaptoethanol

Class 7

Radioactive material

Isotopes, nuclides, tracers

Class 8

Corrosive substances

 (acids, bases)

Acids: Hydrochloric acid (HCl), sulfuric acid, acetic acid

Bases: Amonium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide (NaOH), potassium hydroxide (KOH)

Class 9


Environmental hazardous substances





Labs in Sackler Faculty of Medicine

Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>